Holidays are Coming….

Posted: November 25, 2011 in Miscellaneous, Religion
Tags: , , , ,

… Or are they already here?

It seems that the Christmas festivities come out to play earlier and earlier every year. Now, I’m no Scrooge (unless you mean McDuck, he was king!) but is it just me that finds it a little ridiculous that I can be sipping mulled wine whilst listening to ‘Jingle Bells’ just after bloody bonfire night!? Surely we have still a couple of weeks of bastard teenagers setting off fireworks in the middle of the day before I have to rush out and pick up my Londis wrapping paper?

As a hapless consumerist I’m all for celebrating Christmas, but there has to be a cut off point. Advent calendars start on December 1st for a reason – and it’s not because if they started on November 1st they would be the size of a door! That gives me an idea though…. How great would it be if we had to open actual size doors on an advent calendar?  Admittedly, it would mean that every calendar would have be set in a block of flats. But imagine the Big Ben sized chocolate bell hidden behind it! Mmm chocolate bell. Sorry, let’s move away from that Wonka-style digression.

I’m totally willing to get in the Christmas spirit, when it hits December. For now, I’m going to watch Scream again, set off some catherine wheels and eat a massive dinner whilst pretending that I’m related to American pioneers.

Merry Christmas? Bah humbug. Until next Thursday.

Baa Humbug.. Geddit??

Leave a Reply

