Aliens Can Be Pedophiles Too.

Posted: December 2, 2011 in Politics, Television, Video
Tags: , , , , , ,

Sorry for the attention grabbing title.

This post isn’t going to be as interesting as the title suggests, but why not read on anyway? Go on, treat yourself…

Unless you’ve been living under a rock, or just not been watching the ad breaks during Loose Women, you will probably already have some idea of what this post is going to be about.

I like to think that I’m quite relaxed when it comes to political correctness. I’m not a prude, and have never found myself on the aggressive side of a protest – or the peaceful side to be honest! But I was quite taken back upon first witnessing the new Argos Christmas advert:

I can’t help but find it an odd script choice to make the female alien demonstrate some kind of sexual appetite for Justin Bieber. No, it’s not the end of the world and there certainly shouldn’t be any witch hunts over it. After all, he is very bloody pretty isn’t he? I just think it’s a misplaced sentiment; it’s not a funny line, and certainly sits uncomfortably when you hear it, especially in light of it being a family Christmas advert. And imagine if it was the male alien saying “Mmm Selena Gomez…” – I don’t think it would even have made it to our television screens. Double standards much?

Perhaps it’s all a terribly clever marketing ploy to make a pretty shit advert more memorable. After all, I’ve blogged about it for that very reason but I’m still going to do my last minute shopping there. Or maybe I’m just a hopeless cynic…

Comments
  1. Heather says:

    Oh my lord. You have no idea how freaked out by that advert I am, not only do aliens have nothing to do with Christmas in general but because I have a genuine fear of them thanks to Argos I will now always associate the yule tide with my worst nightmare.

  2. HAPPY CHRISTMAS FROM ARGOS!! You will never enjoy it again…

    I think they’re almost cute aliens… Imagine if it was James Cameron’s Aliens! With a Christmas hat on…Ahhhh.

  3. fluffrick says:

    But it’s Bill Nighy doing the Dad Alien’s voice! Everyone loves Bill Nighy?

    Of the undiminished torrent of Christmas Adverts on telly, I found this one to be one of the least annoying ones doing the rounds (that chuffing Littlewoods ad with the disgusting consumerism being linked to a Nativity play, on the other hand, makes me want to spit nails).

    Horses, courses, something like that.

    James Cameron’s “Aliens”, though, make for interesting ad pitchfolk – instead of the cute aliens in this advert demonstrating this Christmas’ must-have gift, you could have the alien queen birthing lots of the eggs, which hatch iPads and Transformers toys in the grossest, most bio-mechanically slimy way possible…

    Yes, this is probably why I don’t get to make adverts for high street shops.

    • Haaa! I actually think that would make an amazing advert! How do you not do that for a living? The only opportunity I think you missed is for Ripley to walk out brandishing a Nerf gun, sporting a lovely fleece dressing gown and slippers. Ho ho ho.

      Mr Nighy is indeed well-loved, BUT, his awesomeness is cancelled out by the ridiculous over pronuncitaion of the kid alien (“CA-NUN-DRUM”). God…

  4. James says:

    What a perverted slut.

    That’s what you should have said Dave. None of this “ooh, I’m not aggressive, aah” palaver! Get straight the point and don’t hold back on the insults. An article’s not complete without the word ‘cunt’ in it either. Come to think of it, neither’s a sentence… cunt.

    Mmm… eggnog.

Leave a Reply

